Great Shot of the Week

An Angel at My Table (1990)

Dir. Jane Campion

Saw Bright Star over the weekend, and while it’s a genuinely welcome return to beauty for Jane Campion (even though I’m a mild defender of her films Holy Smoke and In The Cut), it can’t hold a candle to her twin masterpieces An Angel At My Table and The Piano.  Kerry Fox, also appearing in Bright Star, gives her finest performance in this, her debut film.

~ by febriblog on October 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “Great Shot of the Week”

  1. I agree! Also very heartened to see some mild defense of Holy Smoke! It’s my favourite Campion film.

    I’m totally with you on Bright Star as well – I thought it was lovely, and sometimes wonderful, yet at other points a little flat.

    I’ve reviewed it on my blog here: http://mrbettydraper.wordpress.com/2009/10/20/brightstar/

    I also talk a bit about Holy Smoke! Let me know what you think.

  2. Further, if you’re looking for great shots, ‘A Single Man’ with Colin Firth and Julianne Moore is FULL of them. Check it out if you have the chance. I’ve also reviewed the film on my blog.

Leave a Reply

 
